Press 53 . PO Box 30314, Winston-Salem, NC 27130-0314

Press 53 Award
for Short Fiction
Press 53 Award for Poetry Opens April 1, 2015
Click Here for Information
Semi-finalists Announced!

2015 Press 53 Award for Short Fiction
Finalists for 2015!
Wendy J. Fox
winner of the 
2014 Press 53 Award
for Short Fiction
Semi-finalists for the 2015 Press 53 Award for Short Fiction (in alphabetical order):

Forrest Anderson of Salisbury, North Carolina, for American Vitality
Hobie Anthony of Portland, Oregon, for Again, for the First Time
Jacob M. Appel of New York, New York, for A Comparative Seismology
Heather Frese of Durham, North Carolina, for The Baddest Girl on the Planet
Dana Fitz Gale of Florence, Montana, for Spells for Victory and Courage
Philip Gerard of Wilmington, North Carolina, for The Things We Do When No One Is Watching
Siel Ju of Los Angeles, California, for Cake Time
Kathleen Kirk of Normal, Illinois, for Minus the Snark and Other Stories
Linda Legters of Newtown, Connecticut, for In the Beginning, Sleep
Andrea Lewis of Vashon, Washington, for What My Last Man Did
Suzanne McConnell of New York, New York, for If You Think Your Heart Can Take It and Other Stories
Madeleine Mysko of Towson, Maryland, for Private Duties
Matthew Pitt of Fort Worth, Texas, for These Are Our Demands
Sara Rauch of North Hampton, Massachusetts, for What Shines from It
Lisa Sharon of Cleveland Hts., Ohio, for Rare Birds

We thank everyone who entered the 2015 Press 53 Award for Short Fiction. Entries for the 2016 Press 53 Award for Short Fiction will open September 1, 2015. 

Best regards,

Kevin Morgan Watson, Publisher
Press 53

Below is our list of 10 finalists in alphabetical order. We will announce our winner on May 3.

Craig Albin of West Plains, Missouri, for Hard Toward Home: Stories
Craig Buchner of Portland, Oregon, for Other Animals
Jennifer Colatosti of Lawrence, Kansas, for Wound Side Down
John Englehardt of Seattle, Washington, for Cascadia, Don’t Fall Apart
John Gifford of Edmond, Oklahoma, for Freeze Warning
Elizabeth Gonzalez of Lancaster, Pennsylvania, for The Universal Physics of Escape
Jodi Paloni of Pemaquid, Maine, for They Could Live with Themselves
Sara Schaff of Oberlin, Ohio, for When I Was Young and Swam to Cuba
Sally Shivnan of Baltimore, Maryland, for Piranhas, & Quicksand, & Love and Other Stories
Gerry Wilson of Jackson, Mississippi, for Mating and Other Stories

The winner of the 2015 Press 53 Award for Short Fiction will be announced here on May 3!