John Ehle is the author of seventeen books—eleven fiction and six nonfiction—including Trail of Tears: The Rise and Fall of the Cherokee Nation. His novel, The Land Breakers, first published in 1964 by Harper & Row, was the first in a seven-book series that begins with the settling of the Appalachian Mountains in western North Carolina in 1779
Mr. Ehle is a member of the North Carolina Literary Hall of Fame, and has received the North Carolina Award for Literature, the Thomas Wolfe Prize, and the Lillian Smith Award for Southern Fiction. He is also a five-time winner of the Sir Walter Raleigh Award for Fiction. He has been recipient of the Mayflower Award for Nonfiction, the Governor's Award for Meritorious Service, and the John Tyler Caldwell Award for the Humanities. Mr. Ehle holds honorary doctorates from UNC-Chapel Hill, UNC-Asheville, the North Carolina School of the Arts, and Berea College.
June 3, 2006 – Harper Lee Praises John Ehle and The Land Breakers

Harper Lee, renowned author of Pulitzer Prize-winning novel To Kill a Mockingbird, sent a personal, hand-written letter to Press 53, praising John Ehle's talent as a writer, and his novel The Land Breakers. In part, she wrote: "John Ehle’s meld of historical fact with ineluctable plot-weaving makes The Land Breakers an exciting example of masterful storytelling. He is our foremost writer of historical fiction." Press 53 will publish Ms. Lee's comments on the cover of The Land Breakers, along with comments by Robert Morgan, Pinckney Benedict and Ron Rash.
We get lots of questions about John Ehle's popular 7-novel Appalachian Series that begins chronologically with The Land Breakers and ends with Last One Home. To the right we have listed all seven books in chronological order with the date of publication in parenthesis, including current publication status.
John Ehle's Seven-novel Appalachian Series
The Land Breakers (1964) reprinted 2006, Press 53

The Journey of August King (1971) reprinted 1995, Miramax

Time of Drums (1970) reprinted 2014, Press 53 

The Road (1967) reprinted 1998, University of Tennessee Press

The Winter People (1982) reprinted 1999, John F. Blair, Publisher

Lion on the Hearth (1961) Currently out of print

Last One Home (1984) reprinted 2009, Press 53
The Land Breakers
by John Ehle

9 x 6 paperback

Last One Home
by John Ehle

9 x 6 paperback

Move Over, Mountain
by John Ehle

9 x 6 paperback

John Ehle's first novel, published in 1957
The Free Men
by John Ehle

9 x 6 paperback

In 1963-64, John Ehle chronicled the civil rights protests as they took place in Chapel Hill, North Carolina. This award-winning work of historical nonfiction was written as history was happening. Complete with original photos.
Press 53 . PO Box 30314, Winston-Salem, NC 27130-0314

John Ehle
50th Anniversary Edition
Book one of the famous John Ehle seven-book Appalachian Series
Time of Drums
by John Ehle

9 x 6 paperback