Enter the Prime Number Magazine Flash Fiction Contest!

Please Note a Change: Beginning January 1, 2019, the Prime Number Magazine Flash Fiction Contest will become a quarterly competition. Since July 2017, we have been awarding outstanding authors of very short stories with a monthly contest. In these many months, the margins separating the winners have grown increasingly thin, and with a single monthly winner we have at times been forced to pass on pieces deserving of recognition. Transitioning to a quarterly submission period with multiple prize winners will allow us to reward the highest quality stories with a fairer model of competition for our authors. 

We will maintain our low $7 (a prime number) reading fee per submission, with new prize payouts as follows:

First Prize: $353 (a prime number) and publication 

Second Prize: $151 (a prime number) and publication

Third Prize: $53 (a prime number dear to us) and publication

Winners will be announced no later than one month following the close of submissions and their stories will appear in the next quarterly issue of Prime number Magazine.

Thank you for your continued support, and we look forward to reading your stories. 

You'll find guidelines on our submissions page at Submittable, the best online submissions manager in the business.

Join our list of winning writers!

October 2018: “The Collective” by Rachael Fowler

September 2018: “Come Live with Me on This Shitty Island” by Tyler Barton

August 2018: "Machete" by Yoán Moreno

July 2018: “The One Thing That Contains Everything” by Mark Wagenaar (Issue 139, Oct-Dec 2018)

June 2018: "Ms. Swift" by Luke Tennis (Issue 139, Oct-Dec 2018)

May 2018: "We of the Water-Chambers" by Jacob Oet (Issue 139, Oct-Dec 2018)

Apr 2018: "Lost Hills" by Ann Hillesland (Issue 137, Jul-Sep 2018)

Mar 2018: "Deep Blue by Jonathan Segol (Issue 137, Jul-Sep 2018)

Feb 2018: "First Floor Foolin’" by Colin Packard (Issue 137, Jul-Sep 2018)

Jan 2018: "The Parable of the Yacht" by Lindsey Griffin (Issue 131, Apr-Jun 2018)

Dec 2017: “None of It’s Been Good” by Stephanie Friedman (Issue 131, Apr-Jun 2018)

Nov 2017: "Jesus When I am Seventeen" by Jade Ramsey (Issue 131, Apr-Jun 2018)

Oct 2017: "Brotherhood" by David E. Yee (Issue 127, Jan-Mar 2018)

Sept 2017: "Boxwood Fox Hunt" by Sarah Ann Winn (Issue 127, Jan-Mar 2018)

Aug 2017: “Quality of Light” by David Armstrong (Issue 127, Jan-Mar 2018)

July 2017: "Interrogation" by Michael Chin (Issue 113, Oct-Dec 2017)